Renishaw Park Golf Club was the brainchild of Sir George Sitwell and in 1911 he constructed an 18 hole golf course spanning the Sheffield to Barlborough Road. In the construction of the original course little resculpting took place save for tree removal and levelling of tees and greens
Sir George made two stipulations; that no bunkers should be seen from the windows of the Hall and secondly that there be an artisans section with specially reduced rates for the many estate workers and men involved in the local Iron Foundry and Pits enabling them to enjoy the game alongside the more well to do who formed the nucleus of the club when it started
The clubhouse is unique consisting of two parts one which dates back to James 1 and was a former hostelry. On the first floor there are rare frescoes of Abraham and Isaac and St George and the Dragon. This house is mentioned in 1720 in one of the old letters displayed at Renishaw Hall and after about 1680 the house was used to entertain guests at the hall
In 1912 Sir George commissioned his friend Sir Edwin Lutyens to design an extension to the clubhouse. This fine crescent shaped façade faces away from the road so is seen by relatively few people. It contains a dining room in the Swiss style seating for a hundred persons, a locker room, drying room, ladies room and stewards quarters.
The clubs relationship with the Sitwell family continues to this day with the current Lady Sitwell serving as club honorary president.